2014 Judging Panel announced

The Ledger Awards, established to acknowledge and promote excellence in comic arts and publishing in Australia, announces the 2014 Judging Panel.

The organising committee invited a group of six – drawn from a mix of creators, retailers, publishers, scholars and commentators on Australian comics – to participate in the selection of recipients for this year’s awards. All six agreed to come on board.

We are very honoured and proud to announce the 2014 Ledger Awards Judging Panel:

Philip Bentley, Mal Briggs, Dr. Elizabeth MacFarlane, Tim McBurnie, Joe Morris and Mark Sexton.

Short bios of each of the Judging Panel are available to read here.

The awards are open to any individual comics/sequential art projects, print and/or digital/web, that are produced (all or in part) by an Australian creator (who identifies as Australian or lives in Australia), or publishers whose main business operations are based in Australia.

The Judged Panel will consider each project on its own merits in creativity, craft and execution.

Gold, Silver and Bronze Ledgers will be awarded for outstanding comics work published in the calendar year January 1 to December 31, 2013. Two Platinum Ledgers will also be presented to acknowledge individuals whose contributions to comic art, publishing and community in Australia have helped shape the art form in a meaningful way.

The recipients will be announced during a ceremony held on the weekend of Supanova Melbourne (further details to be announced), April 2014.

Projects can be added to the Long List via the website’s Call for Entries page. The deadline for submissions via the website is January 31, 2014.

Check Also

2023 Award recipients!

The 2023 Ledger Awards recipients!